England Athletics representative opportunities for Ultra-distance

England Athletics representative opportunities for Ultra-distance

Anglo Celtic Plate 100km Home International Team Race
incorporated into the Meridian Ultra Road Race 50/100km: Patrington, Yorkshire: 21st May 2017

England Athletics continues to value the Anglo Celtic Plate Home International and the role it plays in developing English athletes at a distance beyond the Marathon. England Athletics notes that the best in the UK tend to compete at these championships and England Athletics wish to build on the medal successes achieved in the past by the England Team.

Selection Policy:
Teams of up to 5 Men and 5 Women may be selected.  Athletes who wish to be considered for selection should communicate all performances of races beyond the marathon to Walter Hill at walterhelen@hotmail.co.uk by 11th February 2017.
Guide times for consideration for selection are:

  • Marathon   men 2:30     women  3:02
  • 50 km         men 3:17     women  3:42
  • 40 miles     men 4:25     women  5:15
  • 100 km       men 7:40     women  8:45

These performances need to be achieved between 1st January 2016 and 11th February  2017.

Selection date:
Selection will take place on 13th February 2017 and teams will be announced as soon as possible after this date. It will be necessary for current fitness to be evident prior to selection and athletes to be injury free. The selection committee has the discretion to consider other performances outside the selection criteria where deemed necessary.  There shall be no right of appeal to the selection of the England Team made by the Selection Panel.

Selection of all athletes is subject to agreement of the athlete’s racing programme between the date of selection and the Anglo Celtic Plate 100k Home International Team Race by the England Athletics Selection Committee. The selection committee is: Walter Hill (Chair), Hilary Walker, Norman Wilson, Spencer Duval.

Click here to download a printable version of this information.

Click here to see team selected