England Athletics Regional Council Elections

This year’s nominations for our Regional Councils closed on 28 February 2019. We are pleased to announce that due to the number of nominations received there will be ballots required for positions on the following Regional Councils:

  • Yorkshire & Humberside
  • West Midlands
  • East

The candidates involved in these ballots have been informed in relation to the ballot process and the relevant information will be sent out to clubs in these regions shortly.

We would also like to announce the election of the following candidates whose nominations will see them added to the regional councils from April. These candidates have been elected unopposed to the following Regional Councils:

  • North East
    • Christopher Mole
  • North West
    • Glenn Piper
    • Jon Clarke
  • East Midlands
    • Peter Fendley
    • Debbie Smith
  • South West
    • David Cooke
    • John Deaton
    • Paul D’Arcy
    • Richard Lewellyn-Eaton
    • Sonya Ellis
  • London
    • Adrian Day
    • David Clarke
    • Nadia Williams
    • Tony Ganio
  • South East
    • Julian Starkey
    • Tom Easten

In those regions where a ballot is required, ballot papers will be sent to clubs with voting closing on 3rd April 2019. Each affiliated club is entitled to vote in a ballot held in its region. An announcement on the successful candidates will be made on 5th April 2019.

The first Regional Council meetings following the nomination and ballots process will take place in April 2019 as follows:

School yearAgeAge groupRecommended
maximum distance
Distance increments
Year 37-8 1200m
Year 48-9 1600m+400m
Year 59-10 2000m+400m
Year 610-11 2500m+500m
Year 711-12Under 133500m+1000m (over 2 years)
Year 812-13 3500m
Year 913-14Under 155000m+1500m (over 2 years)
Year 1014-15 5000m
Year 1115-16Under 176500m+1500m (over 2 years)
Year 1216-17 10,000m
Year 1216-17Under 1810,000m+3500m (over 2-3 years)
Year 1317-18Under 2010,000m
University18-19 10,000m