Masters Athletes selected from Brighton Marathon

Masters Athletes competing at the Brighton Marathon have qualified for the England Masters’ Marathon teams who will compete in the Chester Marathon next autumn.

Starting from Autumn 2016 the Bournemouth, Chester, Yorkshire, Brighton and Greater Manchester marathons have all provided masters athletes with the opportunity to represent England in the MBNA Chester Marathon on 8 October 2017.

Each of the five marathons act as a qualifying race, with the top five England Athletics registered runners in each masters age category at each race who have opted in to the qualifying system, guaranteeing themselves a place in the England team.

England Athletics Chief Executive Chris Jones commented, “We would like to congratulate each of the athletes who has qualified on their performances.

“The masters athletics scene is an integral part of the sport and we are delighted to give these athletes this opportunity.

“Bodies, such as the England Athletics Masters Association, provide a tremendous number of competitions for our masters athletes but we are delighted to be able to also offer this opportunity and show our support for these athletes.”

You can read more details about the England Athletics Age Group Marathon team at

Further Information:

Please note the following:

• It is the responsibility of individual runners to enter their chosen qualifying marathon. The usual entry fees apply.

• For the England Representative event, runners will bear the costs of travel to the marathon and the entry fee for the race. Team kit will be available to purchase.

• Details on accommodation and kit purchasing will be emailed to selected athletes shortly.

Details of the MBNA Chester Marathon can be viewed at and this links to the entry site (which you can also reach direct at

Qualifiers from the Brighton Marathon are as follows:


David Hudson (BRJ Run and Tri)

Simon Gill (Bognor Regis Tone Zone Runners)

Simon Longthorpe (Torbay AAC)

Ian Salt (Uttoxeter Road Runners)

Simon Collins (Preston Harriers)


Mark Couldwell (Charnwood AC)

Keith MacIntosh (Wimbledon Windmilers)

Ty Farrer (Huntingdon AC)

Jeremy Rogers (Norfolk Gazelles)

Justin Thomas (Cornwall Athletic Club)


Mark Dickinson (Garden City Runners)

Adam Tribe (Brighton and Hove A/C)

Lewis Sida (Lewes AC)

Richard Ebbs (Ryston Runners)

Chris Gilbert (Lewes AC)


Tim Wigley (Bourne Town Harriers )

Michael Kingsbury (Charnwood AC)


Michael Valbonesi (Benfleet Running Club)

Philip Hoy (Portsmouth Joggers)

Mike Harper (Vegan Runners)


Paul Mingay (Tiptree Road Runners)

Tom Ulliott (Brighton & Hove)

Kevin Byrne (Headington Road Runners)


David Pettifer (Kenilworth Runners)

Roy Dillon (Clanfield Joggers)


Amy Sarkies (Rugby and Northampton AC)

Sophie Carter (Belgrave)

Alissa Ellis (Hailsham Harriers)

Lisa Hale (Sandhurst Joggers)

Hannah Bown (Exmouth Harriers)


Sarah Hill (Farnham Runners)

Juliette Roberts (Arena 80 AC)


Odette Robson (Saint Edmund Pacers)

Sue Fry (Hailsham Harriers)

Jill Cliff (Deal Tri Club)

Kate Allred (Headington Road Runners)

Vicki Clark (Arena 80 AC)


Kate Wright (Stratford upon Avon ac)

Cathy Ulliott (Brighton & Hove)

Helen Sida (Lewes AC)


Carol Marsh (Plumstead)

Lesley Yearley (100 Marathon Club)


Janet Watson (Falmouth Road Runners)


Sue Fox (Maiden Newton Runners)