First Qualifiers for Masters' Marathon events announced

England Athletics is pleased to announce the first athletes to have qualified for the England Masters’ Marathon teams who will compete in a target event next autumn.

Starting from Autumn 2016 the Bournemouth, Chester, Yorkshire, Brighton and Greater Manchester marathons all offer athletes the opportunity to represent England in a target marathon in Autumn 2017. Each of the five marathons act as a qualifying race, with the top five EA-registered runners in each masters age category at each race who have opted in to the qualifying system, guaranteeing themselves a place in the England team.

England Athletics Chief Executive Chris Jones said, “Masters athletics is a thriving part of the sport and road running is also a section of the sport that is seeing a wide variety of people taking part as they wish to fulfil their aspirations and enjoy all the sport has to offer.
“While there are specific Masters bodies, such as the England Athletics Masters Association, who provide a wide range of competitions for our masters athletes it is appropriate that we also work with some of our best events to provide further opportunities and show our support for masters athletes.
“I would like to congratulate each of those athletes selected and encourage those athletes considering taking part in the future events to get involved.”

You can read more details about the England Athletics Age Group Marathon team at

MBNA Chester Marathon Qualifiers

Stephen Weston (DH Runners)
Stuart Hawkes (Tipton Harriers)
Mark Dunham (Southport Waterloo AC)
Anthony Brookes (Sale Harriers)
Michael Mawby (Canterbury Harriers)

Richard Howarth (Horwich RMI Harriers)
Paul Brooks (Stockport Harriers AC)
Dan Doherty (Higham Harriers A.C)
Sean Procter (Blackburn Harriers AC)
Byron Edwards (Bury Athletic Club)

Andrew Whittingham (Wilmslow RC)
Martin Fillingham (Saltaire Striders)
Jason Cook (Blackburn Road Runners)
Andrew Watson (Erewash Valley RC)
Ashley Harris (Droitwich AC)

Rob McGrath (Southport Waterloo AC)
Paul Davies (Centurion RC)
Paul Simons (Salford Harriers & AC)
Simon Fox (Wirral AC)

Mark Ashby (Southport Waterloo AC)
Russ Corsini (Darwen Dashers RC)
Stefan Ledin (Buxton & District AC)
Ian Richards (Shropshire Shufflers)
Gary Dixon (100 Marathon Club)

Brian Martin (Quakers Running Club)
Kevin Harris (Veterans AC)
Steve Shaughnessy (Stockport Harriers & AC)
Brian Thompson (Helm Hill)

Peter Harris (Ely Runners)
Alan Talbot (Buxton)

David Phillips (Massey Ferguson RC)

Alan Peers (Spectrum Striders)

Camilla Hermsen (Harpenden Arrows)
Carly Craig (Manx Harriers)
Charlotte Jones (Oswestry Olympians)
Gillian Pearson (Blaydon Harriers & AC)
Michelle Morris (Baildon Runners)

Carole Penlington (Blackheath and Bromley)
Claire Harrison (Almost Athletes)
Anna Iley (Shropshire Shufflers)
Jayne Lynas (Team Derby Runner)
Amena Madden (Liverpool Running Club)

Rachel Jones (Salford Harriers & AC)
Jayne Lawton (Stockport Harriers & AC)
Joanne Matthews (Hermitage harriers)
Sharon Eaton (Tattenhall Runners)
Wendy Woodhouse (Leamington Cycling and Athletic Club)

Caroline Hemming (100 Marathon Club)
Karon Colley (Bridlington Road Runners)
Pearl Bayford (Bridlington Road Runners)
Susan Hunt (Bourton Roadrunners)
Sue Hawitt (Lytham St Annes)

Mimi Owen (Whitchurch Whippets)
Margaret Connolly (South Kent Harriers)
Deborah Tremayne (Daventry Road Runners)

Madeleine Stansfield (Dewsbury Road Runners)

Yvonne Twelvetree (Totley AC)

Gina Little (100 Marathon Club)

Bournemouth Marathon Festival Qualifiers

Matt Biggs (Dudley Kingswinford)
Richard McDowell (Hercules Wimbledon AC)
Mark Smallwood (Hedge End Runing Club)

Mark Callaghan (Dulwich Runners AC)

Ian Higginson (Bearbrook RC)

Bryan Camfield (Horsham Joggers)
Antony Bishop (Steyning Athletic club)

Ian Needleman (Tring RC)

Sarah Hyatt (Sandhurst Joggers)
Samantha Lake (Tavistock Athletics Club)

Theresa Massey (100 Marathon Club)
Jo Payze (City of Portsmouth AC)
Emma Prideaux (Billericay Striders)
Sarah Rendell (Alchester RC)

Lynda Hembury (Tring RC)
Janet Hill (Springfield striders)
Catherine Marriott (Biggleswade AC)

*Selected athletes confirmed to date.