English Cross Country Association announces 2024 Annual Open Meeting

The 17th Annual Open Meeting of the ECCA will be held on Thursday 9 May at 11am in Nottingham. This will be a face-to-face meeting and tea, coffee and refreshments will be provided.

The Leonardo Hotel (formerly known as the Jury’s Inn, Nottingham) address is Waterfront Plaza, Station St, Nottingham NG2 3BJ.

Ian Byett (Honorary Secretary)


1. Apologies for absence

2. Chairman’s welcome
Unfortunately, the President, Carolyn Franks will not be able to attend this year’s annual meeting due to a longstanding Holiday arrangement. This means the Past Presidents award will have to be presented to Carolyne in the future. While the President 202/25 was still to be announced.

3. Chairman’s report

4. Honorary Treasurer’s report and financial statement

5. Election of the Honorary Secretary for a 3-year period
Eammon Martin has been nominated and is duly elected.

6. Election of General Committee Members
One third of the Committee is due for election each year. There was no-one seeking re-election in 2024. However, the following were nominated for the period 2024 -2026 by Eamonn Martin as President of Basildon AC, and are elected.

  • Jo Newcombe Cambridge & Coleridge
  • Mary Hodges Leamington Spa AC
  • Peta Bee Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow,Claire Martin Telford AC

7. Confirm the 2 nominations from each of the bodies representing Cross Country in the Midlands, North and South.

  • Midlands: Peter Burns and Mick Robinson
  • Northern Athletics: Steve Gaines and Arwel Williams
  • South of England: Martin Holland and David Harris

As there are no other proposals the Chairman will then adjourn the Open Meeting and commence the General Committee business.

  • Minutes of the October 2023 General Committee meeting and matters arising.
  • Reports on the 2023/2024 Championships and Executive Committee meeting
  • Report on venues for the season ahead.
  • Winter Fixture list 2024/2025.
  • Reports on International Fixtures
Visit English Cross Country Association website Download this information (PDF 70kB)