Celebrating the great and the good in the England Athletics family

Dame Jessica received her award from her coach Toni Minichiello and shared her delight in her induction into the England Athletics Hall of Fame via her video presentation; “It’s a huge honour to be alongside some amazing athletes in the Hall of Fame and I’ve got some great memories from competing for England Athletics from the start of my career right the way through so thank you.”

The other 2018 Hall of Fame inductees are Tommy Green, John Regis, Aston Moore and Peter Matthews.

While you may not be a contender to join the greats in the Hall of Fame next year, you can become part of this annual celebration of thethe backbone of the sport, the amazing England Athletics volunteers. Each and every volunteering role in athletics and running matters: from coaches to officials, run leaders to volunteer coordinators, marshals to club secretaries, volunteers are at the heart of England Athletics.

Chris Jones, Chief Executive at England Athletics, comments; "Our Team Spirit volunteering programme is committed to the belief that a person’s wellbeing is enhanced by volunteering and contributing to the community.  There is a common misconception that you must have a sporting background to become a coach, but people of all ages get involved in coaching as a way of giving back to their local community, sharing their knowledge and a desire to inspire others to get active. Being a volunteer coach positively impacts people’s experience of sport and physical activity, whether that’s helping them to achieve their full potential as a competitive athlete or simply encouraging them to get out and run a bit more."

Ten National Volunteer Awards were made to people, clubs and organisationswho have given so much time and energy to the sport for the following categories:  Spirit of 2012 Award (Bracknell AC Game Changers);  Inclusion Award (Adam Thomas); Coach of the Year (Janice Kaufman); Official of the Year (Lynne Marr);  Athletics or Running Club of the Year (Orion Harriers); Volunteer of the Year (Lawrence Ward);  Young Volunteer of the Year (Rebecca Pickard); Inclusion Award;  RunTogether Group of the Year (Mind & Sole);  RunTogether Leader of the Year (Danielle Guy) plus Services to Athletics or Running (John Howley).

Three Ron Pickering Memorial Fund 2018 Athletes of the Year were also recognised:

  • U23 Athlete of the Year: Laviai Neilsen
  • U20 Athlete of the Year: Niamh Emerson
  • U18 Athlete of the Year: Sam Bennett

The inaugural 2018 Dave Cropper 800m awards were this year given to:

  • Male 800m Athlete 2018: Max Burgin
  • Female 800m Athlete 2018: Keely Hodgkinson

The Memorial Bursary set up in David Sunderland's name was also presented - this aims to support development opportunities for coaches and the recipient this year is Helen Clitheroe who leads on a range of development work for steeplechase nationwide as well as coaching endurance athletes from U20 level through to Masters at Preston Harriers.