How we work - England Athletics Structure and Governance

How we work - England Athletics Structure and Governance

On this page you can find out more about how England Athletics works including:

The central functions and services provided by England Athletics are maintained by a small team of staff. These services and responsibilities include member services, support relating to England international teams, Age Group Championships and Combined Events Championships both indoors and outdoors, and financial and accounting services.

A document showing our core goals for the 2013-17 period is available on the right hand side of this page.

We also have a team of staff covering the whole country to provide the sport with support and resources at a local level. To find out more about the staff in your area please see www.englandathletics.org/your-area. Many of the services provided by England Athletics are delivered to clubs and coaches through our Club and Coach Support Officers. There is a Club and Coach Support Officer covering every area of the country working to do exactly what their job says - to support the invaluable work of clubs and coaches. We also have a team of Education Coordinators. They too cover the whole country to ensure that courses for coaches and officials are held to enable them to develop their skills and improve their qualifications. We also have Activators who work to create new opportunities to bring people into the sport. Our Run England programme works to bring more people into the sport through recreational running.

A key strength of the organisation is the bringing together of staff and the elected volunteer councils in nine regions. The elected regional chairs from each elected council come together to form the England Athletics National Council, a body which evaluates the needs and requirements of the sport in formulating proposals for consideration and action by the Board of England Athletics Ltd.

National Council

The National Council includes the nine regional council chairs and is an advisory and best practice sharing group which works to help shape national strategy and direction.

You can find out more about the National Council, Regional Councils and their work in the England Council section of the site/

National staff

Many of the operations and services of England Athletics are carried out at a national level. The national staff are:

Chris Jones - CEO: chrisjones@englandathletics.org
Peter Stanley - Head of Coaching and Development: pstanley@englandathletics.org 
Ralph Knibbs - Head of HR and Welfare: rknibbs@englandathletics.org 
Lynette Smith - Head of Membership Services: lsmith@englandathletics.org
Andy Day - Head of Teams & Competitions: aday@englandathletics.org
Kate Liggins - Financial Controller: kliggins@englandathletics.org
Sue Tamblyn - Company Secretary
Emma Davenport - North Area Manager: edavenport@englandathletics.org
Matt Foad - Acting Midlands and SW Area Manager: mfoad@englandathetics.org
Neil Deans - South Area Manager: ndeans@englandathletics.org 
Bob Smith - London Area Manager: bsmith@englandathletics.org  
Andy Barber - Media Manager: abarber@englandathletics.org
Chris Mallender - Head of Community Participation: cmallender@englandathletics.org
Anna Gray - Community Athletics Programme Manager: agray@englandathletics.org
Tamsin Fudge - Acting National Disability Manager (Community Participation): tfudge@englandathletics.org 
Alison Potts - Executive Assistant and Events Manager: apotts@englandathletics.org 

Project Groups

England Athletics delivers and invests much of its work through focused project groups comprising both volunteers and paid staff. These groups have been established to help drive priority areas of work such as coaching, clubs, schools, facilities, officials development and the like. Groups are often chaired by a council portfolio holder and administered by a paid member of our team. Budgets are aligned to groups to help deliver actions. For further information on project groups, please contact chrisjones@englandathletics.org or contact your regional office for further details of how you can support.

Board Of Directors

The Board Of Directors is tasked with supporting and endorsing high level strategic and financial decisions that shape the delivery of actions within the National Strategy.

  • Peter King - Chair of the Board
  • Chris Jones - CEO
  • Mike Harris - National Council
  • Mike Heath - Vice Chair
  • Karen Neale - Non Executive Director
  • Nigel Rowe - Non Executive Director
  • Wendy Sly - Non Executive Director
  • Tony Shiret - Chair of National Council
  • Tim Soutar - Elected Director
  • Neil Costello - Elected Director

Executive Assistant and Events Manager - Alison Potts - apotts@englandathletics.org.
Company Secretary - Sue Tamblyn
Financial Controller - Kate Liggins

England Athletics Board Meetings 2013-14

Date Documents
Tuesday 22nd January 2013 * Board Meeting Report - 22 January 2013
Associated Document: Board Priorities - 22 Jan 2013
Tuesday 12th March 2013 Board Meeting Report - 12 March 2013
Tuesday 30th April 2013* Board Meeting Report - 30 April 2013
Tuesday 18th June 2013 Board Meeting report - 18 June 2013
Associated Document: NC  report to Board - 18 June 2013
Tuesday 6th August  2013* Board Meeting Report - 6 August 2013
Tuesday 17th Sept 2013 Board Meeting Report - 17 September 2013
Tuesday 22nd October 2013* -- CANCELLED--
Tuesday 12th November 2013 Board Meeting Report - 12 November 2013
Tuesday 10th December 2013* Board Meeting Report - 10 December 2013
Tuesday 5th February 2014* Board Meeting Report - 5 February 2014
Tuesday 25th March 2014* Board Meeting Report - 25 March 2014
Wednesday 7th May 2014*  
Thursday 12th June 2014*  
Tuesday 9th September 2014*  
Thursday 6th November 2014*  

*Meetings to be held at Athletics House, Alexander Stadium, Birmingham
Other dates – Venue tbc

More about how we work

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory Group

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 15 January 2014

Performance Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 25 February 2014

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 5 March 2014

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 14 May 2014