How we work - England Athletics Structure and Governance

How we work - England Athletics Structure and Governance

On this page you can find out more about how England Athletics works including:

The central functions and services provided by England Athletics are maintained by a small team of staff. These services and responsibilities include member services, support relating to England international teams, Age Group Championships and Combined Events Championships both indoors and outdoors, and financial and accounting services.

A document showing our core goals for the 2013-17 period is available on the right hand side of this page.

We also have a team of staff covering the whole country to provide the sport with support and resources at a local level. To find out more about the staff in your area please see www.englandathletics.org/your-area. Many of the services provided by England Athletics are delivered to clubs and coaches through our Club and Coach Support Officers. There is a Club and Coach Support Officer covering every area of the country working to do exactly what their job says - to support the invaluable work of clubs and coaches. We also have a team of Education Coordinators. They too cover the whole country to ensure that courses for coaches and officials are held to enable them to develop their skills and improve their qualifications. We also have Activators who work to create new opportunities to bring people into the sport. Our Run England programme works to bring more people into the sport through recreational running.

A key strength of the organisation is the bringing together of staff and the elected volunteer councils in nine regions. The elected regional chairs from each elected council come together to form the England Athletics National Council, a body which evaluates the needs and requirements of the sport in formulating proposals for consideration and action by the Board of England Athletics Ltd.

National Council

The National Council includes the nine regional council chairs and is an advisory and best practice sharing group which works to help shape national strategy and direction.

You can find out more about the National Council, Regional Councils and their work in the England Council section of the site.

National staff

We have regional staff delivering support to clubs and coaches across England. You can find their contact details at www.englandathletics.org/your-area. OUr Membership Services are also able to help with most day-to-day enquiries, please see our Contact Us page for details.

National staff responsible for key areas of work are:

Chris Jones - CEO: chrisjones@englandathletics.org

Chris Mallender - Head of Local Delivery: cmallender@englandathletics.org
Matt Birkett - Head of Running Participation: mbirkett@englandathletics.org
June Swift - Volunteer, Young People and Officials' Development Officer: jswift@englandathletics.org
Liz Purbrick - National Disability Manager (Community Participation): lpurbrick@englandathletics.org
Andy Anstey - National Running Partnerships Manager: aanstey@englandathletics.org
Martin Rush - Head of Coaching and Athlete Development: mrush@englandathletics.org
Paul Moseley - Coach Development and Education Manager: pmoseley@englandathletics.org
Andy Day - Head of Teams & Competitions: aday@englandathletics.org
Dean Hardman - Head of Business Development and Communications: dhardman@englandathletics.org
Lynette Smith - Membership and Administration Manager: lsmith@englandathletics.org
Andy Barber - Media Manager: abarber@englandathletics.org
Michael Davis - Head of Finance and Governance: mdavis@englandathletics.org
Jane Fylan - National Welfare Lead: jfylan@uka.org.uk
Samantha Carter - Head of HR: scarter@englandathletics.org
Alison Potts - Executive Assistant and Events Manager: apotts@englandathletics.org

 

Board Of Directors

The Board Of Directors is tasked with supporting and endorsing high level strategic and financial decisions that shape the delivery of actions within the National Strategy.

  • Myra Nimmo - Chair of the Board
  • Chris Jones - CEO
  • Tony Shiret - Chair of National Council
  • Mike Harris - National Council
  • Tim Soutar - Elected Director
  • Neil Costello - Elected Director
  • Karen Neale - Non Executive Director
  • Sally Hughes - Non Executive Director
  • Steve Grainger MBE - Non Executive Director
  • Leshia Hawkins - Non Executive Director
  • Peter Crawshaw - Non Executive Director

Company Secretary - Michael Davis

England Athletics Board Meeting Reports

Reports of earlier Board Meetings (2013-2015) can be found here

Date Documents
Tuesday 26th January 2016 Board Meeting Report - 26 January 2016
Wednesday 23 March 2016 Board Meeting Report -  23 March 2016
Wednesday 11 May 2016 Board Meeting Report - 11 May 2016
Wednesday 13 July 2016 Board Meeting Report - 13 July 2016
Wednesday 21 September 2016 Board Meeting Report - 21 September 2016

 

Advisory Groups

England Athletics delivers and invests much of its work through focused advisory groups comprising both volunteers and paid staff. These groups have been established to help drive priority areas of work such as coaching, clubs, schools, facilities, officials development and the like. Groups are often chaired by a board member and administered by a paid member of our team. Budgets are aligned to groups to help deliver actions.

Advisory Group Chair Secretary Members
Performance   Tracy Green Neil Costello, Martin Rush, Andy Day
Participation Steve Grainger Alison Potts Tony Shiret, Neil Costello, Chris Jones, Andy Anstey, Chris Mallender,  Bob Smith, John Skevington, Kate Wooldridge, Andrew Lane
Membership Process and Consultation   Dean Hardman Tim Soutar, Neil Costello, Geoff Morphitis, Mark Wall, Alan Edwards, Andy Barber, Chris Jones
Commercial Sally Hughes Dean Hardman

Chris Jones, Tony Shiret

For further information on advisory groups, please contact Chris Jones at chrisjones@englandathletics.org or contact your regional office for details of how you can support.

More about how we work

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory Group

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 15 January 2014

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 5 March 2014

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 14 May 2014

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 23 July 2014

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 22 October 2014

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 16 December 2014

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 17 February 2015

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory group - Summary of Meeting 12 May 2015

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 15 September 2015

Membership Process & Consultation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 4 November 2015

Performance Advisory Group

Performance Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 25 February 2014

Performance Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 13 May 2014

Performance Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 26 January 2015

Performance Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 21 April 2015

Performance Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 16 June 2015

Participation Advisory Group

Participation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 18 November 2014

Participation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 19 February 2015

Participation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 5 May 2015

Participation Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 1 September 2015

Commercial Advisory Group

Commercial Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 19 February 2015

Commercial Advisory Group - Summary of Meeting 26 May 2015