Masters Marathon team announced for Chester home nations match

Over 150 Age Group runners representing runners in their late thirties to those in their seventies have qualified for the England Team that will compete in Chester against a Celtic Nations Team on 7th October 2018.

Selection took place in partnership with some of the country’s best marathon races (Chester, Bournemouth, Greater Manchester, Brighton); each of the partner marathons acted as a qualifying race, with the top five England Athletics registered runners in each masters age category at each race - who have opted in to the qualifying system - guaranteeing themselves a place in the England team.

Congratulations to the following athletes.


  • Robert Weekes (East Hull Harriers & AC)
  • Peter Mackrell (Leighton Buzzard AC)
  • Nev Watson (Scarborough AC)
  • Simon Beedell (Woodford Green AC)
  • Ian Livesey (Barlick Fell Runners)
  • Kevin Rojas (Brighton & Hove AC)
  • Stephen Honight (Bristol & West AC)
  • Gareth Evans (Victoria Park & Tower Hamlets)
  • Karl Welbourn (Tipton Harriers)
  • Noel Kindon (Cornwall AC)
  • Lloyd Biddell (Mercia Fell Runners)
  • Tom Aldred (London Heathside Runners)
  • Chris Ashford (Birmingham Running & Triathlon)
  • Peter Tucker (Blackheath & Bromley Harriers AC))
  • Gill Hoole (Scunthorpe & District AC)
  • Anna Hollingworth (Stone Masters Marathoners)
  • Gemma Connolly (St Helens Sutton AC)
  • Hannah Roberts (Petts Wood Runners)
  • Faye Banks (Pontefract AC)
  • Sam Ludlow-Taylor (Serpentine RC)
  • Laura Trimble (Wimbledon Windmilers)


  • Ben Evans (Tamworth AC)
  • Dan Grundy (Vegan Runners UK)
  • Andrew Haney (Chorlton Runners)
  • Kirk Brawn (Peterborough AC)
  • Chris Adams (North Derbyshire RC)
  • Mark Worringham (Reading RR)
  • Graham Breen (Bristol & West AC)
  • John Scaife (Hadleigh Hares AC)
  • Gary Whitehouse (Tipton Harriers)
  • Richard Howarth (Horwich RMI Harriers)
  • Ty Farrer (Huntingdonshire AC)
  • Kieron Summers (Weston AC)
  • Anthony Webb (Medway Park Phoenix)
  • Susan Keens (Maltby RC)
  • Michelle Maxwell (Chippenham Harriers)
  • Lindsy James (Kimberworth Striders)
  • Gillian Allen (Elswick Harriers)
  • Christine Lathwell (Stopley Striders)
  • Charlie Metcalfe (Ryde Harriers)
  • Sarah Shedden (Winchester & District AC)
  • Soulla Wright (Arena 80 AC)
  • Sarah Hill (Farnham Runners)
  • Jennifer Sangster (Redway Runners)


  • Steve Bateson (East Hull Harriers & AC)
  • Matt Willifer (Thames Hare & Hounds)
  • Andrew Reeves (Serpentine RC)
  • Gareth Lowe (Clowne RRC)
  • Adam Howlett (Framlingham Flyers)
  • David Smithers (York Knavesmire Harriers)
  • Mark Gray (Steel City Striders RC)
  • Richard Ebbs (Ryston Runners)
  • Felix Allen (Hercules Wimbledon AC)
  • Ian Coxall (Woodbridge Shufflers RC)
  • Clive Alley (Clapham Chasers)
  • Jeff Pyrah (Hastings AC)
  • Charles Wartnaby (Cambridge & Coleridge AC)
  • Andrew Dobby (Harrogate Harriers & AC)
  • Andrew Green (Dartford RR)
  • Andrew Tribe (Brighton & Hove AC)
  • Clare Coombes (Vegan Runners UK)
  • Kari Mack (Bognor Regis Tone Zone Runners)
  • Deborah Gilman (Hatton Darts)
  • Sarah Gurney (Winchester & District AC)
  • Sarah Rendell (Alchester RC)
  • Tracy Dean (Staffs Moorlands AC)
  • Nicola Nuttall (Trawden AC)
  • Helen Mulhall (Bearbrook RC)
  • Michelle Vaughan (East Cheshire Harriers)


  • Ritchie Gerry (Sunderland Strollers)
  • Tony Flanagan (Swinton)
  • Richard Shipway (Western AC)
  • Nick Malpeli (North Herts RRC)
  • Paul Davies (Centurion)
  • Jon Anderson (Cambridge & Coleridge AC)
  • Christopher Swire (East Cheshire Harriers)
  • Dave Peart (Royton RR)
  • Andrew Bunt (Dartford RR)
  • Mike Dooley (Team Bath AC)
  • Derek Dunne (Springfield Striders RC)
  • Gerard O’Sullivan (Ashford AC)
  • Jonathan Jennings (Birmingham Running & Tri)
  • Kevin Martin (Arena 80 AC)
  • Andy Parkin (Retford AC)
  • Andrew Payne (Arena 80 AC)
  • Simon Fletcher (Seaford Striders RC)
  • Mick Kinsgbury (Charnwood AC)
  • Alex Toll (Barrow Runners)
  • David Smith (Steel City Striders)
  • Fee Mayock (Cheltenham & County Harriers)
  • Louise Goddard (Lancaster & Morecambe AC)
  • Keran Peters (VocaLink Mastercard RC)
  • Janet Haynes (Mounts Bay Harriers)
  • Jo Stephenson (Stowmarket Striders RC)
  • Zoe Tetlow (Horsham Joggers)
  • Catherine Payne (Grantham AC)
  • Val Jennings (Ipswich Jaffa RC)
  • Cathy Ulliott (Brighton & Hove AC)
  • Susanna Harrison (Guildford & Godalming AC)


  1. Colin Taylor (Watford Joggers)
  2. Gary Dale (Hyde Village Striders)
  3. Bob Fursey (Medway & Maidstone AC)
  4. Steve Rhodes (Hyde Park Harriers)
  5. Steve Crocker (Mid Susses Triathlon Club)
  6. Ian Stokes (Canterbury Harriers)
  7. Alistair Chambers (Ivanhoe Runners)
  8. Derek Darnell (Huntingdonshire AC)
  9. Andrew Trigg (Erme Valley Harriers)
  10. Jerry Watson (Thames Hare & Hounds)
  11. David Shaw (Striders of Croydon)
  12. Lea Lohk (Lytchett Manor Striders)
  13. Karen Galpin (Almost Athletes)
  14. Christine Bexton (Beeston AC)
  15. Mary Conway (Red Rose RR)
  16. Anita Bond (Eastern Masters AC)
  17. Jane Davies (Reading Roadrunners)
  18. Anna Blomfield (Rochdale Harriers & AC)
  19. Gillian Boynton (York Acorn AC)


  • Richard Slater (Blackburn RR)
  • Barry Graves (Ely Runners)
  • Dennis Smith (Trawden AC)
  • David Howard (Trawden AC)
  • Denis Jolly (Chorley Athletic & Triathlon Club)
  • Maurice Hemingway (St Neots Riverside Runners)
  • Trevor Taylor (UKRunChat RC)
  • Geoff Pennells (Striders of Croydon)
  • Tom Ulliott (Brighton & Hove AC)
  • Brian Martin (Quakers RC)
  • Steve Boynton (York Acorn RC)
  • John James (Heaton Harriers & AC)
  • Sheila Jones (Radcliffe AC)
  • Madeleine Stansfield (Dewsbury RR)
  • Teresa Lovern (Somer AC)
  • Alison Jones (Sandhurst Joggers)
  • Janice Moorekite (Larkfield RC)
  • Lynda Hembury (Dacorum & Tring AC)
  • Mimi Owen (Whitchurch Whippets)
  • Deidre Heydecker (St Albans Striders)
  • Teresa Hollins (Middleton Harriers AC)
  • Margaret Britton (Airecentre Pacers RC)


  • Peter Kirby (Teignbridge Trotters)
  • John Fassnidge (Serpentine RC)
  • Patrick Grannan (Wilmslow RC)
  • Roger Booth (Shelton Striders)
  • Fred Streatfield (Larkfield AC)
  • David Dibben (Reading RR)
  • Malcolm Kemp (Brighton Phoenix)
  • Mike Kestle (Newquay RR)
  • Philip Ide (South London Harriers)
  • Mike Walker (Southport Waterloo AC)
  • David Pettifer (Kenilworth Runners)
  • Nick Kernahan (Torrington AAC)
  • Deborah Millington (Wrekin RR)
  • Jackie Bradshaw (Halesowen ACC)
  • Jacqueline Millett (Serpentine RC)
  • Sarah Marzaioli (Hastings Runners)
  • Liza Darroch (Cirencester AC)
  • Kate Sergent (Stratford-upon-Avon AC)
  • Joyce Bell (Istead & Ifield Harriers)


  • John Owen (Barnet & District AC)
  • William Gill (Stubbington Green)
  • Stuart Colwill (Road Runners Club)
  • Ian Richards (Steyning)
  • David Winch (Thanet AC)
  • Christopher Gill (St Theresa AC)
  • Timothy Kirk (Midlands Masters)
  • Christine Smith (Wolverhampton & Bilston)
  • Shirley Gibson (Darlington H & AC)
  • Gina Little (100 Marathon Club)
  • Susan Orlando (Bridlington RR)