Leeds Abbey Dash 10k: team selected

England Athletics are committed to providing opportunities for athletes to represent England on the road as COVID restrictions ease. We are therefore delighted to announce the team selected to compete at the 2021 Leeds Abbey Dash 10k.

Leeds Abbey Dash has traditionally been one of the fastest road 10km opportunities in the UK attracting a very high quality domestic field. This year the England team will compete against other home nations teams as well very strong area teams.

Team selections are based on expressions of interest form athletes who meet the standards within the relevant selection policy, with a focus on current form.


  • Nicole Taylor (Tonbridge, Richard Owen)
  • Danielle Hodgkinson (Wallsend, Tom Craggs)
  • Dani Chattenton (MK Distance Project, Kyle Bennett)
  • Nigel Martin (Sale Harriers, Norman Poole)
  • Dom Nolan (Croydon Harriers, Tim Eglen)
  • Ross Skelton (HY Runners, Geoff Watkin)

Team Staff

  • Kyle Bennett (Team Leader)
  • Matt Long (Team Coach)

Nicole Taylor is selected after successfully defending her England 10000m title in July during a very consistent season of racing which also saw the Tonbridge athlete run 15:54 at the Friday Night 5k Under the Lights event in May. 2019 England 1500m Champion Danielle Hodgkinson is selected after winning Trafford 10k in September. The Army 1500m Champion and Wallsend Harrier has competed for England before including winning Tout Rennes Court 10k in 2019. Dani Chattenton is another athlete with England experience. The MK Distance Running Project athlete as a PB of 32:36 and is selected after tunning 15:57 at the Friday Night 5km Under the Lights event in September.

Nigel Martin is selected for his 2nd England vest this year after a fantastic performance at Antrim Coast Half Marathon saw him finish 5th in 63:21. Martin also ran 28:58 over 10000m in June. Ross Skelton is selected for his first senior England vest after a fantastic run at Antrim Coast Half Marathon in August where he ran 63:39. Dom Nolan is selected after winning the England 10000m title at the Fast Friday event in July and clocking 13:53 at the BMC in June.