England under-20 team announced for 2021 Manchester International

We are delighted to announce the 54 athletes who have been nominated for selection to represent England under-20s at the Manchester International, recognised as one of the premier track and field events in the domestic athletics calendar.

The team will be taking on U20 athletes from Scotland, Wales, and Great Britain & Northern Ireland (GB&NI) under-18s at the Manchester Regional Arena.

Scott Grace, England U20 Team Leader for the 2021 Manchester International, said:

“Our congratulations to all the athletes, their coaches and clubs, on their selection. This is the first time we have had an U20 England team at the Manchester International and I believe it will provide a great stepping-stone to senior success. After the challenges of the last 18 months, it’s great to see so many young athletes doing well which has enabled us to select such a strong England U20 team for the Manchester International.”

Also at the event on Wednesday 18 August will be a competition between senior teams representing England, Wales, Northern Ireland, the National Athletics League and GB&NI under-20s; click here to find out more about that competition.


Buy spectator tickets online at Eventbrite – only £5 adults and FREE for U16s/Seniors 65+ (booking fees apply). As well as promising edge-of-your-seat action, spectators can also access on-site catering and come-and-try activities for youngsters.

Under 20 team

The athletes nominated to represent England under-20s at the 2021 Manchester International:


100m: Trinity Powell  (Club: Manchester Harriers, Coach: Kes Salmon)
200m: Millie King (Club: Ipswich, Coach: Graham Holmes)
400m: Gemma Jones (Club: Corby, Coach: Bill Boyd)
800m: Indienne King (Club: Kettering, Coach: Shane Smith)
1500m: Keira Brady Jones (Club: Wirral, Coach: Sarah Kearney)
5000m: Phoebe Anderson (Club: Herne Hill, Coach: Wayne Vinton)
3000m Steeplechase: Martha Collings (Club: Woking, Coach: Steve Gillingham)
5000m Walk: Millie Morris (Club: Ashford, Coach: Christopher Hobbs)
100m Hurdles: Danielle Hales (Club: Telford AC/Thames Valley, Coach: Anthony Pitt)
400m Hurdles: Melissa Coxon (Club: Rotherham, Coach: Joe Frost)
High Jump: Hannah Moat (Club: Notts AC, Coach: David Walker)
Long Jump: Abigail Pawlett (Club: Stockport T&F, Coach: Joe Frost)
Triple Jump: Amelia Gray (Club: Andover, Coach: James Coney)
Pole Vault: Nemiah Munir (Club: Wycombe, Coach: Ian Parkinson)
Shot: Jessica Hopkins (Club: Chelmsford, Coach: Garry Power)
Discus: Precious Hamilton (Club: Woodford Green Essex Ladies, Coach: Norman Simmons)
Javelin: Hannah Barnden (Club: Derby, Coach: David Turner)
Hammer: Zoe Price (Club: Liverpool Harriers, Coach: Ronnie Bomba, John Pearson)
4 x 100m: Abigail Pawlett (Club: Stockport T&F, Coach: Joe Frost), Millie King (Club: Ipswich, Coach: Graham Holmes), Lily Parris (Club: Chelmsford AC, Coach: Julie Pratt-Benterman), Amelia Verney (Club: Bournemouth, Coach: Zac Kerin), Faith Akinbileje (Club: Blackheath & Bromley, Coach: John Blackie), Renee Regis (Club: Enfield & Haringey, Coach: Christine Bloomfield-Harrison)
4 x 400m: Isabelle Skelton (Club: Corby, Coach: Bill Boyd), Emily Newnham (Club: Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers), Mary John (Club: Woodford Green & Essex Ladies, Coach: Alan James): Gemma Jones (Club: Corby, Coach: Bill Boyd), Hannah Foster (Club: Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers, Coach: Craig Andrew), Melissa Coxon (Club: Rotherham, Coach: Joe Frost)


100m: Henry Nwoke (Club: Liverpool Harriers, Coach: Mike Sweeney)
200m: Toby Makoyawo (Club: Windsor Slough Eton & Houslow, Coach: Peter Griffiths)
400m: Samuel Reardon (Club: Blackheath & Bromley, Coach: Nigel Stickings)
800m: Will Bellamy (Club: Houghton Harriers, Lynn Cooper)
1500m: Alex Melloy (Club: Cambridge & Coleridge, Coach: Mark Vile)
5000m: Flynn Jennings (Club: Bideford, Coach: Andy Glover)
5000m Walk: TBC
3000m SC: Tom Bridger (Club: Cambridge & Coleridge, Coach: Mark Vile)
110m Hurdles: Abdulsamad Sanusi (Club: Newham & Essex Beagles, Coach: Nat Senior)
400m Hurdles: George Seery (Club: Thanet AC, Coach: Jack Green)
High Jump: Lionel Owona (Club: Windsor Slough Eton & Houslow)
Long Jump: Archie Yeo (Club: Kingston upon Hull, Coach: Martin Bishell)
Triple Jump: Josh Woods (Club: Shafesbury Barnet Harriers, Coach: Jade Surman)
Pole Vault: Bryce Breen (Club: Herts Phoenix, Coach: Gordon John Lillis)
Shot: Kane Aubrey (Club: Wimborne, Coach: Dave Callaway)
Discus: Dillon Claydon (Club: Blackheath and Bromley, Coach: John Hillier)
Javelin: Tom Dollery (Club: Team Bath, Coach: Mark Bradford)
Hammer: Alex Bernstein (Club: Preston, Coach: Andy Jeans)
4 x 100m: Tyler Panton (Club: Woking, Coach: Joe Holden), Prince Chinda (Club: Enfield & Haringey, Coach: Frank Adams), Emmanuel Duruiheoma (Club: Shafesbury Barnet Harriers, Coach: Jake Awe), Louie Hinchliffe (Club: Sheffield & Dearne, Coach: Rudolph Paul Hohn), Suhuyini Osman (Club: Croydon, Coach: Paul Weston)
4 x 400m: Ethan Flaherty (Club: Liverpool Harriers), Nabil Tezkratt (Club: Woodford Green & Essex Ladies, Coach: Gladys Bird), Louis Menzies Walker (Club: Victoria Park Harriers), Mark Roberts (Club: Liverpool Pembroke Sefton, Coach: Mark Beasdale), George Seery (Club: Thanet AC, Coach: Jack Green), Pablo Seema Roca (Club: Blackheath & Bromley, Coach: Jay Galley), Alex Cooper (Club: Birchfield Harriers, Coach: Grant Barker), Joshua Hale (Club: BRAT, Coach: Simon King)

Team Support

Team Leader: Scott Grace
Team Managers: Sarah Friday and Kirsty Aitken
Team Coach Endurance: Luke Gunn and Jo Wilkinson
Team Coach Speed: Cathy Walker, Martin Owens, Stewart Marshall and Katy Odell
Team Coach Jumps: Rafer Joseph, Jamie French, Maxine Robbins and Deirdre Elmhirst
Team Coach Throws: Lorraine Shaw, Martin Cassidy, Kelly Bramhald and Paul Head

Photo by Mark Shearman

Some team changes made 16 August