Physical impairments

Physical impairments

Physical impairments – national classification

To be eligible for physical impairment classification in athletics, athletes must have a confirmed medical diagnosis of a permanent measurable physical impairment that affects their ability to perform the sport, and meet the MDC for at least one of the 8 eligible impairment types, including hypertonia, ataxia, athetosis, limb deficiency, impaired passive range of movement, impaired muscle power, leg length difference and short stature.

How to get classified

1. Athletes with a physical impairment must have a Physical Impairment Medical Diagnostics Form (MDF) completed by their GP or medical consultant. MDFs should be accompanied by additional supporting medical documentation i.e. doctors letters supporting diagnosis and/or physiotherapist reports that discuss movement and functioning.
Note: MDFs can only be signed by a medical doctor (i.e. not a nurse, physiotherapist, parent or coach).

2. If MDF and supporting documentation demonstrates eligibility for national classification, athletes are then invited to attend a classification clinic to be assessed by UKA national classifiers. National classification clinics for physical impairment classification run throughout the winter each year (i.e. October to March).

3. Following national classification, if the athlete meets the relevant MDC a sport class will be allocated.

Further information

For general classification enquiries or to receive an MDF, please contact the British Athletics classification coordinator:
Phone: +44 (0) 7702 335 861

Click here to download the full classificiation document which includes further information and all the impairment classes