Commonwealth Games

Birmingham 2022 selection policy

Updated 14 October 2021

Following the decision by the organisers of the London Marathon to hold next year’s race on Sunday 2 October 2022, we have amended our selection process for English athletes in relation to the Marathon event at the 2022 Commonwealth Games. Please note, the Manchester Marathon on 3 April 2022 will now be the ‘trial’ race for Birmingham 2022. Full details of the revised Marathon Nomination Criteria can be found in the XXII Commonwealth Games England Athletics Selection Policy document [section]. If any athletes or coaches have any questions, please contact Spencer Duval, England Athletics Event Group Lead for Endurance, via or Kelly Sotherton, Team Leader for England’s athletics team at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games, via


In this video, Kelly Sotherton, Team England’s Track and Field Team Leader for Birmingham 2022, provides some of the key information, timelines and contact details contained within both selection policies. Watch below or click to view video on YouTube.

England Athletics Selection Policy

This document outlines the process by which England Athletics will arrive at its decisions to nominate athletes for selection for the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

England Athletics Para-Athletics Policy

England Athletics has adopted the Athlete Allocation System (AAS) for the Para-Athletics events at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games, in accordance with the Commonwealth Games Federation.

Birmingham 2022 schedule

With 286 sessions across 19 different sports, including 7 days of athletics, the summer of 2022 is set for a spectacular home Games.

Note: The information contained within the schedule is correct at the time of publishing but remains subject to change.

England Athletics Appeals Policy

This document sets out England Athletics Appeals Policy for all decisions relating to the nomination of an athlete to Commonwealth Games England for selection at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games. It is the only applicable appeals procedure.

As Team England’s Track and Field Team Leader for Birmingham 2022, Kelly is determined to ensure that athletes and coaches have as much clarity and transparency as possible around selection for the Games.

The 2006 Commonwealth Games heptathlon champion and triple Olympic medallist said:

“I think one of the most important things about selection policy is how clear and concise it is. Previously maybe there’s been questions that have come from a selection policy. I want to make sure that I tackle those questions, ensure that the athletes and coaches are clear about what it takes to qualify for Birmingham 2022. I also want to be as transparent as possible so being communicative as often as possible and being there to ask and answer questions is important to me.”

Coach recruitment for Team England Track & Field team for Birmingham 2022

England Athletics is pleased to announce it has started the process for recruiting coaches to support England’s Track and Field team at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games. The official roles across all disciplines will have a major impact on the collective and individual performance of Team England athletes at the Games.

A look back at Team England’s athletics success in 2018

In Gold Coast 2018, Team England’s track and field athletes and para athletes won five gold, five silver and seven bronze medals at the Commonwealth Games.

Commonwealth Games 2018 – Gold Coast, Australia

Gold Medals

  • Women’s 4 x 100m Relay: Asha Philip, Dina Asher-Smith, Bianca Williams, Lorraine Ugen
  • Men’s 4 x 100m Relay: Reuben Arthur, Zharnel Hughes, Richard Kilty, Harry Aikines-Aryeetey
  • Women’s Heptathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson
  • Women’s T38 100m: Sophie Hahn
  • Men’s Hammer: Nick Miller

Silver Medals

  • Women’s High Jump: Morgan Lake
  • Men’s T47 100m: James Arnott
  • Men’s 800m: Kyle Langford
  • Men’s 20km Race Walk: Tom Bosworth
  • Men’s T54 Marathon: John Smith

Bronze Medals

  • Women’s 5000m: Laura Weightman
  • Women’s Heptathlon: Niamh Emerson
  • Women’s 200m: Dina Asher-Smith
  • Women’s Long Jump: Shara Proctor
  • Men’s Pole Vault: Luke Cutts
  • Men’s T54 Marathon: Simon Lawson
  • Women’s T54 Marathon: Jade Jones