England Council

A key strength of England Athletics is how we bring together our core staff and the elected volunteer councils in our regions. The elected regional chairs from each elected council come together to form the England Council, a body which evaluates the needs and requirements of the sport in formulating proposals for consideration and action by the Board of England Athletics Ltd.

The England Council includes the Regional Council chairs and is an advisory and best practice sharing group which works to help shape national strategy and direction. Click here to find out more about the Regional Councils.

The chair of the England Council is elected by the members of the England Council. Two members of England Council sit on the Board of England Athletics.

England Council members

East: Matthew Dalton
East Midlands: Jane Pidgeon
London: Adrian Day
North East: Janice Kaufman (board rep)
North West: Jon Clarke
South East: Julian Starkey (chair and board rep)
South West: Richard Llewellyn-Eaton
West Midlands: Stuart Paul
Yorkshire and Humberside: Moira Gallagher

England Council meeting dates for 2021

  • Wednesday 24 February 2021
  • Wednesday 21 April 2021
  • Wednesday 11 August 2021, 11.00 -15:00, via video conference or venue tbc
  • Wednesday 20 October 2021, 11.00-15:00, via video conference or venue tbc