Team England Para Athletes named for Birmingham 2022

The 21 para-athletes set to represent Team England at this summer’s 2022 Commonwealth Games have been announced.

Watch below or click to view video on YouTube.


The line-up includes current Paralympic champions Sophie Hahn, Thomas Young, and Hannah Cockroft, with the latter two competing at their first Commonwealth Games.

Hahn, defending Commonwealth Games champion in the women’s T38 100m, is one of four Team England medallists included from Gold Coast in 2018. She is joined by silver medallists James Arnott (men’s T47 100m) and Johnboy Smith (men’s T54 marathon) as well as Simon Lawson, who took bronze (men’s T54 marathon). David Weir and Dan Greaves, both gold medallists at Glasgow 2014 with an incredible 28 Paralympic and world medals between them, bring further experience alongside Zac Shaw, Ola Abidogun, and Nathan Maguire who have also previously represented Team England at Commonwealth Games.

There will be 12 Commonwealth Games para-athletic debutants for Team England at Birmingham 2022 thus ensuring a blend of youth and experience. They’ll all be aiming to ‘Bring it Home’ in front of the Alexander Stadium crowds from Saturday 30 July [marathon] through to Tuesday 2 August to Sunday 7 August [track and field]. The Commonwealth Games is the only major Games where Paralympic and Olympic athletes are integrated as one team.

Kelly Sotherton, Team Leader for Team England’s athletes at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games, said:

“We are absolutely delighted to welcome these 21 athletes to Team England after they accepted invitations to what promises to be an incredibly exciting Commonwealth Games in Birmingham. This team represents a wonderful blend of youth and experience, and we know these athletes can’t wait to represent England this summer. We look forward to supporting them both in the lead-up to, and during, the Games in front of a home crowd in Birmingham.”

Team England’s Chef de Mission, Mark England OBE, welcomed the athletes to the team. He said:

“Team England has a rich history in para athletics and I am delighted to welcome our athletes for the home Games in Birmingham this summer. The Alexander Stadium home crowd will be right behind the team and I’m hopeful that we’ll see success as our athletes aim to ‘Bring It Home’ in Birmingham.”

The Commonwealth Games is a multi-sport event with a fully integrated programme of para sport disciplines and this year’s Games promises to be extra special with full stadiums and arenas after Tokyo 2020 took place behind closed doors. Birmingham 2022 is set to have the largest ever female and para sport programme in history after new disciplines of Women’s T20 Cricket and Beach Volleyball and Para Table Tennis were confirmed.

Team England para-athletes for Birmingham 2022


  • Hannah Cockroft*: 100m - T34 (Leeds City AC, Jennifer Banks)
  • Kare Adenegan: 100m - T34 (Coventry Godiva Harriers, Job King)
  • Fabienne Andre: 100m - T34 (Weir Archer Academy, Jenny Archer)
  • Sophie Hahn*: 100m - T38 (Charnwood, Leon Baptiste)
  • Ali Smith: 100m - T38 (Guildford and Godalming, Benke Blomkvist)
  • Hetty Bartlett: 100m - T38 (City of Norwich, Denis Costello)
  • Shelly Oxley-Woods: Marathon - T54 (Kirkby AC, Peter Wyman)
  • Eden Rainbow-Cooper: Marathon - T54 (Weir Archer Academy, Jenny Archer)
  • Stacie Gaston-Monerville: Discus - F42-44/F61-64 (Enfield and Haringey, Alison O’Riordan and Taz Nicholls)


  • Zac Shaw: 100m - T12 (Cleethorpes, Leon Baptiste)
  • Thomas Young**: 100m - T38 (Loughborough Students, Joseph McDonnell)
  • Shaun Burrows: 100m - T38 (Charnwood, Joseph McDonnell)
  • Ola Abidogun: 100m - T47 (Horwich, Grant Barker)
  • Emmanuel Oyinbo-Coker: 100m - T47 (Newham and Essex Beagles/Loughborough Students, Coral Nourrice)
  • James Arnott: 100m - T47 (City of Plymouth)
  • Daniel Sidbury 1500m - T54 (Sutton and District AC, Christine Parsloe)
  • Nathan Maguire: 1500m - T54 (Kirkby AC, Steven Hoskins)
  • Johnboy Smith: Marathon - T54 (Sutton and District AC, Christine Parsloe)
  • David Weir: Marathon - T54 (Weir Archer Academy, Jenny Archer)
  • Simon Lawson: Marathon - T54 (Ian Thompson)
  • Dan Greaves**: Discus - F42-44/F61-64 (Charnwood, Zane Duquemin)

*Current World Record Holder
**Current European Record Holder

More information: