England team announced for Reykjavik Games

The Reykjavik Games are one of Iceland’s largest sporting events, with nearly 2000 competitors from more than 40 countries around the world participating in 15 sports. England have sent an Athletics team to the event twice, the last time in 2020 (pre-pandemic).

The event attracts a high calibre of athletes from across the World, many aiming for qualification for upcoming indoor championships.

Competition Manager Vicky Griffiths says:

“We are thrilled to be sending a strong team to the Reykjavik Games after missing the event for a couple of years due to the pandemic. We have a great mix of experience, some athletes achieving their first England selection. Our team success in the past has been strong and we will be looking to continue this success across the events. Most of the team have opened their indoor season with strong results and will be looking to build on this early success, laying down strong foundation for the 2023 season."

England team


  • Richard Akinyebo (coach: Tamunonengiye-Ofori Ossai; club: BFTTA)
  • Leonie Ashmeade (Lewis Samuels, Wakefield)


  • Lee Thompson (John Henson, City of Sheffield & Dearne AC)
  • Ella Blakley (John Henson, Derby AC)


  • Dan Putman (Dan Putnam, Blackheath & Bromley)
  • Jessica Tappin (Dan Putnam, Thames Valley)


  • Archie Parkinson (Bill Boyd, Corby AC)
  • Molly Hudson (Helen Clitheroe, Derby AC)

Long Jump

  • Alex Farquharson (Ashton Moore, Coventry AC)

Shot Put

  • Lewis Byng (Mark Edwards, Stratford Upon Avon)
  • Serena Vincent (Andrew Vincent, City of Portsmouth AC)


  • Read more athletics and running news
  • Featured image: Manchester, 18.8.21. Serena Vincent. Photo by Mark Shearman.
  • This article was edited on 3 February 2023 following the withdrawals of:
    • Henry Fisher (Dean Miller, Blackheath and Bromley Harriers) — Men's 800m (replaced by Archie Parkinson)
    • Jack Roach (Lukasz Zawila, Harrow AC) — Men's Long Jump (replaced by Alex Farquharson)
    • Molly Palmer (Lukasz Zawila, Thames Valley Harriers) — Women's Long Jump (no replacement)
    • Toni Ademuwagun (Robbie Grabbarz, Thames Valley Harriers) — Men's High Jump (no replacement)