England return to Växjö International 2024

We are delighted to announce the athletes selected to represent the red rose at the Växjö International in Sweden next month.

The team of fifteen young athletes will compete across shot put, discus and javelin at the unique indoor arena. The competition provides an outstanding opportunity for the under-18 and under-20 contingent to learn about international competition culture, working with team staff and travelling across the globe for competition.

Amongst those selected are Commonwealth Youth Games javelin silver medallists Tom Rutter and Harriet Wheeler and European U18 shot put champion from 2022, Cleo Agyepong.

Speaking on the opportunity, Event Group Lead for Throws, Nick Ridgeon said:

“Congratulations to all of the selected throwers, their personal coaches and support teams. The team is comprised of throwers hoping to be selected for the World Athletics Under 20 Championships and the European Under 18 Championships this summer.

“This competition provides a fantastic opportunity to develop coaches working with athletes on the Talent Pathway by giving them firsthand experience of selection meetings and working as team coach roles, rather than personal coaches. I’d like to thank the team coaches and selection panel members Katryn Woodcock (discus), Greg Beard (shot put) and Scott Knighton (javelin) for their hard work in preparation for selection meeting and wish them the very best in supporting the team out in Sweden.

“It’s my hope that the team perform to the best of their ability so we have a good idea of where they are very early on this season are able to identify key ways they need to develop ahead of being at their best at national and hopefully international championships in the summer.”

Selected athletes

Shot put

  • U20 Cleo Agyepong (Blackheath and Bromley, John Hillier)
  • U20 Annabel Amadin (Sale Harriers, Robert Gaisie)
  • U20 Maegan Hopkins (Chelmsford AC, Geoff Tyler)
  • U18 Isabelle Stamp (South London Harriers, Philip Hartnett)
  • U18 Lawson Capes (Peterborough & Nene Valley AC, Lewis Capes)


  • U20 Caden Uzoigwe (Trafford AC, Michael Martin)
  • U20 Teddy Gannon (Windsor, Slough, Eton & Hounslow, Garry Power)
  • U20 Timi Babatunde (Dartford Harriers AC, John Hillier)
  • U18 Nubia Evans-Shields (City of Plymouth AC, Graham Moncur)
  • U18 Gabriella Cindy Tcheukam (Croydon Harriers, Chris King)


  • U20 Ben Jones (Taunton AC, Simon De Wilton)
  • U18 Tom Rutter (HAWCS AC, Tom Dobbing)
  • U18 Harriet Wheeler (West Cheshire AC, Dave McKay)
  • U18 Dulcie Yelling (Brighton & Hove AC, Bob Willows)
  • U18 Elise Christian (Guildford & Godalming AC, Martin Cassidy)

Support staff

  • Vicky Griffiths - Team Leader
  • Gregory Beard - Shot Put Team Coach
  • Katryn Woodcock - Discus Team Coach
  • Scott Knighton - Javelin Team Coach
  • Ciaran Keen - Physio