England Athletics high jump team announced for Hustopeče

An England Athletics Team of of eight high jumpers will be travelling to Hustopeče in the Czech republic from the 4 to 6 February. The event, part of the Moravian High Jump Tour, hosts two days of dedicated high jump competitions from under elevens to world class seniors.

This event has been selected to offer up-and-coming athletes the opportunity to experience foreign competition and travel with the excitement of a dedicated high jump competition.

The venue in Hustopeče, normally a basketball hall, is converted into a high jump arena for the weekend. The combination of each competitor jumping to their own choice of music accompanied by the rhythmical clapping and foot stamping of supportive spectators within touching distance of the athletes creates an electric atmosphere certain to bring out the best in the athletes.

The Hustopeče meeting has produced numerous personal bests for English athletes none moreso than in 2016 when Chris Baker set an all time PB of 2m36 (4th UK all time) almost beating the current Olympic Champion Giamarco Tamberi. In the last meeting held just before the start of the Covid pandemic 2021 Olympic Finalist Tom Gale went one better taking the honours winning the Senior elite event with 2m33.

Over the years Hustopeče has also been instrumental in giving our top female jumpers including Morgan Lake, Bethan Partridge, and Emily Borthwick (B competition winner in 2017) invaluable experience as they developed. Olympian Emily (Wigan and District) who competed in her first Games in Tokyo in 2021 has been invited by the organisers to compete in the women’s elite competition this year highlighting the value of England Athletics' earlier support.

This year England Athletics have selected a strong development team of four seniors and four juniors headed by Commonwealth Games hopefuls Joel Khan (Worcester AC) and Laura Zialor (Marshall Milton Keynes), and 2021 England Senior Champion Adam Brooks (Yate).

Senior Team

  • Joel Khan (Worcester): 2021 European U23 finalist
  • Adam Brooks (Jeremy Dale, Yate AC): 2021 England senior champion
  • Laura Zialor (Jade Surman, Marshall Milton Keynes / Birmingham Uni) :2021 Loughborough International winner
  • Hannah Moat (Dave Walker, Notts AC / Loughborough Students): 2020 England indoor U20 champion

U20 Team

  • Luke Ball (Jeremy Dale, Radley): 2021 England U17 champion
  • Kresten Calvert (Wirral, Pam Green): 2022 northern indoor champion
  • Zara Tyas (Ian Hill, Stockport T&F/Loughborough Students): 2021 ESAA senior champion
  • Halle Ferguson (Andrew Wood, Trafford): 2021 England U17 champion