Youth Talent Programme

The Youth Talent Programme (YTP) is the first step on the Talent pathway designed to meet the needs of identified, talented English athletes aged between 16 and 18 years of age and their coaches. The programme focuses on developing a dual career for the athlete through fulfilling their potential within the sport and also in their education and employability.

The programme aims to complement club provision and add value to the athlete and coach plan to help develop a broad range of skills, abilities and behaviours needed for senior success. This is delivered through practical training sessions with likeminded athletes in their event group, performance support sessions and workshops. There is also the opportunity for coaches to access additional qualifications, mentoring and support delivered through the England Athletics Talent Event Leads.

For those athletes in full-time education the YTP will allow the athlete to gain an academic support qualification (Diploma in Sporting Excellence) allowing progression either to further / higher education or to gain employment within a related field.  Those athletes not in full-time education will be able to access the YTP content and use skills gained from their training to support their personal development and progression without the qualification.

The selection process is split across four stages:

  • Stage 1 – Athlete/Coach application (closed on 7 Spetember 2020)
  • Stage 2 – Youth Talent Profiling Day or Application Profile Review
  • Stage 3 – Selection Panel
  • Stage 4 – Induction

Applications for 2020-22 Youth Talent Programme

Applications for the 2020-22 Youth Talent Programme are now closed (as of 7 September).  Applying athletes should be registered with England Athletics for the current year (2020-21). More details about the programme and selection process are available via the following:

Athletes who are not successful through the initial selection process will be offered the opportunity to attend the England Athletics regional programme and there are multiple pathway entry points for athletes to join programmes at a later date.

UKA and England Athletics will be keeping up-to-date and ensuring that the restrictions and advice put in place by the UK Government will be abided by to ensure the safety and welfare of our athletes, coaches, officials and staff and their families. The selection policy and process will be amended to align with that advice and restrictions – all updates will be published on the UKA and England Athletics websites.

Youth Talent Programme 2020-22 webinar – watch again

Youth Talent Programme 2020-22 Recruitment webinar with Q&A (originally broadcast Monday 29 June)
This is a recording from a live webinar hosted by Nick Ridgeon and Dan Wagner
Click here to watch again on demand
Click here for accompanying slides (PDF 1MB)