How we work - inc Board & Council

How we work - inc Board & Council

On this page you can find out more about how England Athletics works including:

The central functions and services provided by England Athletics are maintained by a small team of staff. These services and responsibilities include member services, support relating to England international teams, Age Group Championships and Combined Events Championships both indoors and outdoors, and financial and accounting services.

Cick here to find out more about our strategic priorities, values and more.

We also have a team of staff covering the whole country to provide the sport with support and resources at a local level. To find out more about the staff in your area please see www.englandathletics.org/your-area. Many of the services provided to Clubs by England Athletics are delivered to through our Club Support Managers. There is a Club Support Manager covering every area of the country working to do exactly what their job says - to support the invaluable work of clubs and coaches. We also have a team of Education Coordinators. They too cover the whole country to ensure that courses for coaches and officials are held to enable them to develop their skills and improve their qualifications. 

A key strength of the organisation is the bringing together of staff and the elected volunteer councils in nine regions. The elected regional chairs from each elected council come together to form the England Athletics National Council, a body which evaluates the needs and requirements of the sport in formulating proposals for consideration and action by the Board of England Athletics Ltd.

National Council

The National Council includes the nine regional council chairs and is an advisory and best practice sharing group which works to help shape national strategy and direction.

You can find out more about the National Council, Regional Councils and their work in the England Council section of the site.

National staff

We have regional staff delivering support to clubs and coaches across England. You can find their contact details at www.englandathletics.org/your-area. Our Membership Services are also able to help with most day-to-day enquiries, please see our Contact Us page for details.

National staff responsible for key areas of work are:

Chief Executive - Chris Jones: chrisjones@englandathletics.org

Head of Club Support & Local Partnerships - Chris Mallender: cmallender@englandathletics.org

Head of Participation - Matt Birkett: mbirkett@englandathletics.org

National Welfare Lead - Jane Fylan: jfylan@englandathletics.org

Volunteer manager - Kerry Marland: kmarland@englandathletics.org

Officials' Development Offcer - Nicola English: nenglish@englandathletics.org

Athletics & Running Inclusivity Support Officer - Helen Newberry: hnewberry@englandathletics.org

2017 Inspiration Coordinator - Jane Stewart: jstewart@englandathletics.org

Product Development Manager - Dan Parkinson: dparkinson@englandathletics.org

Marketing & Campaigns Manager - Jen O'Brien: jobrien@englandathletics.org

Head of Coaching and Athlete Development - Martin Rush: mrush@englandathletics.org

Education & Workforce Manager (Coaching) - Paul Moseley: pmoseley@englandathletics.org

Coaches Club Manager - Sarah Friday: sfriday@englandathletics.org

Head of Business Partnerships & Major Events - Dean Hardman: dhardman@englandathletics.org

Membership Services Manager - Lynette Smith: lsmith@englandathletics.org

England Competitions & Teams Logistics Manager - Andy Day: aday@englandathletics.org

Media Manager - Andy Barber: abarber@englandathletics.org

Business Partnerships Manager - Andy Anstey: aanstey@englandathletics.org

Major Events Manager - Alison Potts: apotts@englandathletics.org

Head of Insight & Performance Management - Dan Isherwood: disherwood@englandathletics.org

Head of Finance and Governance - Michael Davis: mdavis@englandathletics.org

Head of HR - Samantha Carter: scarter@englandathletics.org

 

Board Of Directors

Subject to the Articles and the Act, the directors are responsible for the management of the Company’s business and affairs for which purpose they may exercise all the powers of the Company.

  • Myra Nimmo - Chair of the Board
  • Chris Jones - CEO
  • Mike Neighbour* - Chair of National Council
  • Allan Wort* - National Council
  • Tim Soutar - Elected Director
  • Neil Costello - Elected Director
  • Karen Neale - Non Executive Director
  • Sally Hughes - Non Executive Director
  • Steve Grainger MBE - Non Executive Director
  • Leshia Hawkins - Non Executive Director
  • Peter Crawshaw - Non Executive Director

Company Secretary - Michael Davis
*Director appointment in progress

England Athletics Board Meeting Reports

Click here for reports of earlier Board Meetings (2013-2015)

Date Documents
Tuesday 26th January 2016 Board Meeting Report - 26 January 2016
Wednesday 23 March 2016 Board Meeting Report -  23 March 2016
Wednesday 11 May 2016 Board Meeting Report - 11 May 2016
Wednesday 13 July 2016 Board Meeting Report - 13 July 2016
Wednesday 21 September 2016 Board Meeting Report - 21 September 2016

 

More about how we work